Board of Adjustment


The Board of Adjustment hears and decides appeals when an applicant requests an exception to the Unified Development Code. This board is unique in that, unlike the other city boards and commissions, its decisions are final. No recommendations are made for the City Council to act upon. Appeals of board decisions are referred to the Circuit Court of Jackson County.

Established by Municipal Code Section 402.030


Meetings of the Board of Adjustment are held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.    

2022 Board of Adjustment meeting schedule


The Board of Adjustment is comprised of five members and up to three alternate members who serve for five-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. Members must be residents of Blue Springs.

Board Members
Term Expires
Ron Amos - Chairman 2021 2022
Erwin Gard - Vice Chairman 2021 2022
DeWayne Duhon 2017 2022
Laurie Hatfield 2018 2023
Brian Ross 2020 2025
Ron Amos 2021 2026
Erwin Gard  2021 2026
Andrew Crick - Alternate Member 1 2021 2026
Brittany Boswell  - Alternate Member 2 2021 2026