Community Develop. Block Grant Advisory Committee

The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Advisory Committee assists in the assessment of projects presented for annual funding consideration.  This is a 7-member committee that includes members of the community with a knowledge of and interest in redevelopment with low- and moderate-income areas, downtown capital improvements, housing, and homeless and disability needs.


  • Recommends polices, goals, and objectives of the CDBG program, after consultation with the Mayor, to be approved by the City Council;
  • Evaluates performance of the funded activities and, at the discretion of the Committee, makes recommendations to the Mayor and City Council regarding future activities
  • Recommends to the Mayor and City Council a budget for funding based upon City policies, goals, objectives, financial needs and commitments and community needs assessments;
  • Conducts program reviews, solicit, and receive written comments from the public, and conducts public hearings; and;
  • Attends all scheduled meetings (approximately 4-6 per year) 

Staff Liaisons

Community Development Department 

Mike Mallon
Matt Wright

Public Works Department

Chris Sandie
Jeff Sell

Parks Department

Dennis Dovel        

Recording Secretary

Karen Findora
Ph: 816-228-0207
Board Members
Representing Agency
Appointed Term Expires
Susan Culpepper, Councilman Council District #3 May 2018 April 2019
Chris Lievsay, Councilman Council District #2 May 2018 April 2019
Jerry Kaylor, Councilman Council District #1 May 2018 April 2019
Mitchell Peil, Vice-Chairman Planning Commission May 2017 April 2019
Vacant Downtown Review Board May April
Cindy Miller, Chairman Blue Springs Downtown Alive! May 2017 April 2019
Dena Duhon Parks Commission May 2016 April 2019