Downtown Review Board


The Downtown Review Board is responsible for enforcing building layout and the Downtown Development Code in the Downtown Zoning Map and making recommendations to the Mayor and City Council.

Established by Municipal Code Section 402.060


Meetings of the Downtown Review Board are held on an as-needed basis, based on the complete submission of applications, typically held on weekday afternoons approximately six to ten times per year.


The Downtown Review Board is comprised of nine members and one alternate member to serve one-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The nine members include: two members of City Council, two members of Planning Commission, the Community Development Director, the Public Works Director, a resident who may be a property owner who lives in the T-Zone on the Downtown Zoning Map, and two members who each shall be on the Board of the Chamber of Commerce or Blue Springs Downtown Alive!  One additional member of the Planning Commission shall serve as an alternate member if one of the Planning Commission members is absent or has a conflict of interest.

Board Members
Term Expires
Jason Ellis - Chair 2021 2022
LaKeisha Veal - Vice Chair 2021 2022
Jennifer Hauschild - Downtown Alive Appointment 2021 2022
Jason Ellis - Property Owner 2021 2022
Jaime Russell - Chamber Appointment 2021 2022
Mitchell Peil - Planning Commission Rep. 1 2021 2022
LaKeisha Veal - Planning Commission Rep. 2 2021 2022
Tom Rohr  - Planning Commission Alt. 2021 2022
Galen Ericson - Councilmember Dist. 1 2021 2022
Kent Edmondson - Councilmember Dist. 2 2021 2022
Mike Mallon- Community Development Director    
Chris Sandie - Public Works Director