Economic Development Council


The Economic Development Council is responsible for advising and making recommendations regarding the sale, acquisition, and development of property; developing strategies, objectives, and policies to attract and retain business; and general policy guidelines for the City’s Economic Development program to the Mayor and City Council.

Established by Municipal Code Section 120.210 


Meetings of the Economic Development Council are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 8:00 a.m.


The Economic Development Council is comprised of fourteen members, ten of the members serve three-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The remaining four members are standing positions appointed by: Blue Springs School District, Central Jackson County Fire Protection District, Blue Springs Chamber of Commerce, and Downtown Alive! and those members shall serve until their entity appoints a replacement. One Councilmember is assigned annually to serve as a non-voting liaison. 

annual reports

Board Members
Term Expires
Rebecca Nace  - Chair 2020 2021
Joey Zarrillo - Vice Chair 2020 2021
Justin Beal 2020 2023
Drew Grossman 2019 2022
Erika Lucas 2020 2023
James McCullough 2019 2022
David Meyer 2019 2022
Brett Miller 2018 2021
Rebecca Nace 2020 2023
Michael Scott 2019 2022
Taylor Warwick 2019 2021
Joey Zarrillo 2020 2023
Kirk Sampson - Blue Springs School District 2016  
Jeff Grote, Chief - Central Jackson County Fire Protection District 2017  
Lara Vermillion - Chamber of Commerce 2020 2023
Lyle Shaver - Downtown Alive! 2020 2023