Solid Waste Management Commission


The Solid Waste Management Commission is responsible for reviewing the solid waste activities in Blue Springs and keep informed of changes in solid waste technologies and solid waste requirements and makes recommendations regarding issues concerning solid waste management as they relate to the City so as to promote the health, comfort, and general welfare of the City and to preserve and protect property values throughout the City to the Mayor and City Council.

Established by Municipal Code Section 120.340


Meetings of the Solid Waste Management Commission are held on an as-needed basis, typically held on weekday evening approximately two to three times per year. 


The Solid Waste Management Commission is comprised of five members who serve three-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. All members must be residents of Blue Springs.

Board Members
Term Expires
John Nolan - Chair 2021 2022
Ann Leinn Gibson - Vice Chair 2021 2022
Michael Brown 2020 2022
Ann Leinn Gibson 2019 2022
Shelly Xiong 2020 2023
Michael Pedigo 2020 2023
John Nolan 2021 2024