Community Development

The Community Development Department is comprised of 4 divisions responsible for a wide range of services from mapping to code enforcement. Together they work to improve quality of life by ensuring community safety through building standards.


  • The Planning Division serves the community by developing, administering, and enforcing standards that preserve and enhance the quality of life within the community.
  • The Codes Administration Division certifies that so far as ascertained by the City of Blue Springs the described portion of the structure has been inspected for compliance with the requirements of the City of Blue Springs Municipal Code.
  • The Business Services Division is responsible for issuing Business, Solicitor/Peddler and Liquor Licenses.
  • The Geographic Information Services (GIS) Division maintains mapped data to provide all departments with information to help serve the public efficiently and quickly.